What stops me???

Well, I’ve gotten several things into the trash. A couple of things out of the house.
A few things out of the room they were in, and into the room they belong
If I would only do this every single day, My house would start looking so much better, I could get so much more done, and my life would be so much more wonderful. So, why don’t I?  What is it that prevents me from doing the things that I know I need to do, in order to make my life better?

This question doesn’t just apply to my hoarding issues.  I have so many ideas that I want to write about.  Something will flash in my mind, and I will think – ooh, that would make a great blog post.  I should write about that.  Then I…just don’t.  I resume playing the computer game, reading the book, and later, when I’m actually wanting to write, I don’t remember that great topic.  Once in a while, I will jot a few notes, so I won’t forget – and then can’t find where I put them.

It is not just writing, either.  I have so many projects that I have started, and never finished.  I have tasks – simple tasks, relatively speaking, that I know I am capable of doing, that I simply…don’t.

Why?

What is it that prevents me from starting, doing, or completing a task, a project, an objective, an article?

In my book, Meditations of a Hoarder (possibly coming out at the end of this month!!!) I speculate that it is partially because I don’t believe I deserve success.  That somehow, deep down inside, where I don’t really consciously know it, I have decided that I am a “BAD PERSON”, and thus I do not deserve success, love, a nice place to live in…I also wonder if I am so afraid of failing that I never finish anything – because that way, I can’t be judged on the whole thing – my project never reaches the point where I can truly decide if it was a success or a failure.

I don’t know.  All I know right now is this – I am not consistent.  If I were consistent with my decluttering efforts – even if I only did 15 minutes a day, but I did those 15 minutes EVERY SINGLE DAY, my chaos would eventually become a haven.

So…What stops me?

Let me know what you think!